Skip to Content

40th Anniversary


College of Health Professions
40th Anniversary Celebration
Honoring Our Past-Celebrating Our



The College of Health Professions at Texas State University is celebrating their 40th anniversary this year. Early in 1970, Billy Mac Jones, president of Southwest Texas State University, initiated a study to determine the potential for the university’s participation in the emerging Texas healthcare workforce. On April 24, 1972, the Texas Coordinating Board for Higher Education approved the proposal and the Allied School of Health Professions was born. This was the first site in Texas where healthcare professionals were educated in a higher education setting instead of a hospital.


In its 40-year history, the College of Health Professions has had much to be proud of and to celebrate. The future holds many exciting prospects for the College of Health Professions that include moving to the Texas State campus at Round Rock. The move to Round Rock will position the college in two new buildings with plenty of room to grow its programs and acquire advanced state-of-the-art equipment. Dr. Ruth B. Welborn, Dean, has an ambitious but attainable vision - a Health Science Center at Round Rock, Texas.


40th Anniversary

As part of the celebration the college hosted a luncheon for faculty, staff, students, alumni, and former faculty. Two former deans attended the luncheon, Dr. Rumaldo Juarez, and Dr. Don Green who was the first dean of the college. Also in attendance were President Denise M. Trauth; Dr. Gene Bourgeois, provost; Dr. Perry Moore, provost emeritus; and Mayor Daniel Guerrero. After the luncheon a coffee and chocolate reception was held.

The longest serving chair of the college, Mr. Dave Falleur, Chair, Clinical Laboratory Science, was recognized for his 38 years of service to the college and the university with a special recognition, the Dave M. Falleur Scholarship. This new scholarship will assist students in all programs of the College of Health Professions achieve their academic dream. If you would like to be part of this great endeavor and donate to the scholarship please call Donor Services at 512-245-3022 or complete the donation form.  
Mr. Falleur


40th Anniversary Luncheon

40th Anniversary Coffee and Chocolate Reception


The Respiratory Therapy program has the distinction of being the first program offered in the College of Health Professions in 1972, beginning as a certificate program for registry in Inhalation Therapy. In 1993, Inhalation Therapy was transitioned to the Bachelor of Science in Respiratory Care, accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care.
In 2004, the Respiratory Care department brought sleep diagnostics and the treatment of sleep disorders to the curriculum and college through the opening of the Texas State Sleep Center and the addition of the Graduate Certificate in Polysomnographic Technology. The sleep center provides an active center for education, research, and diagnostics services to Texas State and the surrounding communities.
Since its inception, the department has contributed over 1,100 respiratory therapists to the healthcare industry. The Texas State Respiratory Care Program remains one of the largest respiratory care programs located in a traditional university setting in the nation



Dr. GreeneOn April 25, 1972, the School of Allied Health Professions was approved. During the first years of the School of Health Professions, only three people were employed: a dean, Dr. Don C. Green, who also served as department chair; a program director, Mr. Cade Harkins, who was also the only faculty member; and, a secretary, Ms. Roxanne McKimmey. 



Mr. HarkinsWith an annual budget of $30,000, the School offered its first program, Inhalation Therapy (now Respiratory Care), to an initial enrollment of twenty-four students. The School's first faculty member was Mr. Cade Harkins, who has served as Program Director and Department Chair.









Mr. FalleurDegrees were awarded as a Bachelor of Science in Medical Technology with a major in Biology in 1973. The first member hired for the Clinical Laboratory Science Program was Dave Falleur, in 1974. In 1975, two or more faculty were added to the program, Dr. Lou Caruana, and Philip Kostroun.

History of the Deans....




Dr. Ruth B. Welborn, Dean, 2003 - Present

During Dr. Welborn’s time at Texas State University, she has served in a number of leadership positions including the Chair of the Departments of Allied Health Sciences and Health Administration, Associate Dean of the College of Health Professions, and Acting Dean of the College of Health Professions. In 2003, Dr. Welborn was appointed Dean of the College of Health Professions. She holds the rank of Professor of Health Administration. In addition, she has a long history of participation in her professional organizations and community service activities.
Her research has focused on the healthcare delivery models for service and the learning styles of health professions’ students seeking higher education. Dr. Welborn’s grant activities have focused on the recruitment and retention of health professions’ students from disadvantaged backgrounds, bringing to Texas State $4 million dollars in funding. In 2003, she participated in the development of a nursing program at Texas State to include the designing of a $36 million state-of-the-art building, hiring of faculty and staff, and developing the nursing curriculum. She was successful in acquiring three federal grants totaling $1.9 million for the nursing program. The first class of nursing students was admitted fall 2010 and these students will be graduating spring 2012!


Dr. Juarez

Dr. Rumaldo Z. Juarez, Dean, 1994 - 2002

Coming from the University of Texas-Pan American in Edinburg as a Department chair and professor of the department of sociology and social work, Dr. Juarez served as Dean and Professor in the College of Health Professions at Texas State from 1994 to 2002 and became president of Texas A&M-Kingsville in August 2002.





Dr. Trevino

Dr. Fernando M. Trevino, Dean, 1991 - 1993
From 1991 to 1993, Dr. Treviño served as Dean of the School of Health Professions and Professor of Health Administration at Texas State. As Dean he served as the chief academic officer of the nation's largest school of health professions with 2,000 students majoring in one of eleven different health occupations.


Dr. Green

Dr. Don C. Green, Dean, 1972 - 1991
Don C. Green was the first Dean and he also served as department chair of the Allied School. During that period there was one program director, Mr. Cade Harkins, who was also the only faculty member, and, a secretary, Ms. Roxanne McKimmey. Dr. Green is now retired.