Skip to Content

Sue Biedermann Scholarship Fund

Sue Biedermann Scholarship

Ms. Sue Biedermann, Associate Professor Emeritus

Department of Health Information Management

Ms. Sue Biedermann, Associate Professor Emeritus retired in August 2014 after 34 years of teaching, scholarship, and service at Texas State. She earned her MSHP in Health Administration from Southwest Texas State University in 1983. In addition, a BSMRA in Medical Record Administration in 1977 from Southwest Oklahoma State University.

Ms. Biedermann contributed immensely to the advancement of the Health Information Management discipline in numerous ways and inspired students in her thoughtful and kind manner. She maintained an open door policy and her philosophy was quite simple; she wanted her students to succeed and earn a college degree because she knew that a college degree opened many doors to opportunity. During her leadership, more than 900 students have earned the Bachelor of Science in Health Information Management (BSHIM) degree. As a pioneer in online education, she was instrumental in developing an online BSHIM degree pathway at Texas State. The online BSHIM degree program was implemented in the Fall of 2000. Ms. Biedermann contributed significantly to the growth and recognition of the HIM profession through leadership service at the local, state and national level.

Click the link below to make a donation in honor of the work and service of Sue E. Biedermann.

Sue E. Biedermann Scholarship Fund




Current and Past Recipients


2021-2022 Recipients:

Brandi Boehnemann, BSHIM Spring 2022

Current Vice President of the Health Information Management Student Association (HIMSA)


Sally Wiethoff, MSHIM, Spring 2022

Clinic nurse at New Tech High @ Coppell


2020-2021 Recipients:

Leah Espinoza, BSHIM Spring 2021

HIM Analyst III at Baylor Scott and White Austin Medical Center


Dana Owidat,

MSHIM, Spring 2021


2019-2020 Recipients:

Christina Turrietta, MHIM, RHIA, CCS

Outpatient Coder, Community Health Systems

Adjunct Faculty, Health Information Management at El Paso Community College



2018-2019 Recipients:


Kristin Jendrzey-Gibson

BSHIM - Graduated 2012

MHIM - Graduated 2018 

Kristins Kookie House & Boutique, LLC