Skip to Content


1984 - Bachelor of Science in Physical Therapy (BSPT) introduced to Southwest Texas State University

1984 - First class of 16 students enrolled in BSPT program

1986 - Program accredited by Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE)

1995 - Master of Science in Physical Therapy (MSPT) program enrolled initial class of 32

1996 - Last BSPT class of 24 students graduated

1997 - First MSPT class  of 32 students graduated

1998 - MSPT program accredited for 10 years by CAPTE

2003 - University name changed to Texas State University-San Marcos

2006 - DPT proposal submitted for approval by the University community

2007 - DPT approved for implementation in 2008, first applications accepted

2008 - First DPT class of 40 students admitted

2011 - First DPT class graduated in May 2011; DPT program accredited for 10 years by CAPTE

2013 - University name change to Texas State University

2018 - Department relocated to Willow Hall on the Texas State University campus at Round Rock

2019 - opened the student led Pro Bono Clinic


Texas State’s PT program is one of fourteen physical therapist educational programs in the state of Texas. Nine are in public institutions, four in private institutions. The private programs are: Hardin Simmons University, University of Incarnate Word in San Antonio, the University of St. Augustine in Austin with a developing program in Dallas and Baylor University. The final one is a  program offered by the US Army at Fort Sam Houston in connection with Baylor University. The public programs are: Texas State University,  Angelo State University, Texas Tech Health Science Center, Texas Woman’s University, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, University of Texas Medical Branch University of Texas at El Paso and the University of North Texas Health Science Center.